Portland Public Schools Harriet Tubman Middle School Environmental Technical Advisory Committee Charter

Purpose

The Harriet Tubman Environmental Technical Advisory Committee (ETAC) was created to provide technical and community feedback to Portland Public Schools (PPS) administration, Board and PPS consultants on matters related to the ambient and indoor air toxin monitoring. ETAC guidance will focus on monitoring strategy, methodology, data analysis and the health and safety of students and faculty at Harriet Tubman middle school (HTMS). This will be accomplished through information sharing and review of existing and future planning, plan implementation and final measurements/outcomes for a range of health and safety projects.

Advisory Group Charge

The initial charge for ETAC will consist of reviewing and providing feedback to PPS consultants and Administation on the assessment and mitigation of outdoor and indoor air toxins. Additional duties may be assigned to ETAC as needed to assist with a comprehensive assessment of student and faculty health and safety at HTMS. This Charter will be updated as needed.

ETAC Membership

Members serve voluntarily and will possess a range of backgrounds and expertise. Member knowledge and experience will include DEQ air quality, PSU air quality consultants, Portland community air quality, county environmental health, PPS project management, risk management and epidemiology. Membership includes:

- 1. Dr. Raul Cal PSU Wind Tunnel Modeling Consultant
- 2. Dr. Elliott Gall (PI) PSU Air Quality Consultant
- 3. Dr. Linda George-PSU Air Quality Consultant
- 4. Anthony Barnack DEQ Air Monitoring Lead
- 5. Dr. Richard Baldauf EPA Outdoor Air Quality (Ad hoc)
- 6. Dr. Jae Douglas Environmental Health Director, Multnomah County
- 7. Dr. Christine Kendrick, Air Quality Lead, City of Portland
- 8. Virginia Laforte Community Member
- 9. Dr. William Lambert Epidemiological Consultant
- 10. Mary Peveto Neighbors for Clean Air
- 11. Tom Roick DEQ Air Monitoring Manager
- 12. Dean Sasek, MD Community Member
- 13. Brett Borgeson PPS Senior Manager of Environmental Health and Safety

14. Dr. John Burnham – PPS Senior Director Office of School Modernization
15. Joe Crelier, ARM – PPS Director of Risk Management
16. Steve Simonson – PPS FAM Project Manager II

Procedural Rules

Meetings: ETAC will initially meet in early 2018 to review planning and implementation of outdoor air monitoring at HTMS in February. Subsequent meetings are TBD as needed.

ETAC Coordination: PPS will provide administrative support to coordinate ETAC meetings, creation of minutes and reporting to PPS administration.

ETAC Chair: Dr. John Burnham will initially serve as Chair.

Meeting Notice: Every effort will be made to provide written notice of upcoming meetings and relevant documents to members at least seven days before each meeting.

Subcommittees: Subcommittees may be created as needed to review specialized topics and will consist of a minimum of two volunteers from ETAC and may include non-ETAC specialists. These subcommittees will meet as needed independent of ETAC. A designated subcommittee member will report findings to the ETAC.

Minutes: Written minutes will be created and provided to ETAC members and selected members of PPS administration.

Visitors

ETAC meetings are open to the public. Members of the public may sign up to give two minutes of comments or testimony at a time that will be designated at the end of each meeting. Visitors may ask technical questions during or after the meeting.